My Causerie

"All great change in America begins at the dinner table." ~ Ronald Reagan

PRSSA-SIUE Walking the Walk September 19, 2016

Filed under: ACS 313 — mycauserie @ 7:00 am

walk-footprintMembers of the SIUE Chapter of Public Relations Student Society of America don’t just talk the talk; they walk the Walk–the Walk to End Alzheimer’s.

Every fall the Alzheimer’s Association-St. Louis Chapter hosts several area Walks to raise awareness about Alzheimer’s disease and to raise funds for research, advocacy and support for those living with the devastating disease. As part of its community service initiative, the PRSSA-SIUE Chapter supports the annual Edwardsville Walk, which takes place on the SIUE campus. This year’s Walk is Sept. 24.

SIUE alumna Lindy Noel is the marketing and communication coordinator for the Alzheimer’s Association-St. Louis Chapter. She began her involvement with the Alzheimer’s Association six years ago as a member of the SIUE PRSSA Chapter.

“I didn’t know much about the Alzheimer’s Association or the Walk, but my grandma had the disease so my interest was piqued,” Noel said. “I had already volunteered my time with Relay for Life so I thought this would just be another Walk. I was wrong. I volunteered and found the cause to be amazing. I also started fundraising to help fund the mission. Later, when a position opened up at the Alzheimer’s Association, I knew I had found my place, my passion.”

Noel works extensively with media to help raise awareness about all the area Walks. It was her efforts that helped bring the SIUE Walk to the front page of the Edwardsville Intelligencer.

“In my role as the marketing & communication coordinator I feel like I’m making a small difference in the world. I know I don’t necessarily make as much as I could in the private sector, but I make good money and feel good about what I’m doing,” Noel said.

PRSSA members don’t just talk the talk when it comes to their professional goals either. They walk the walk by being active Chapter members and taking advantage of the professional development and networking opportunities their membership offers. Noel’s success should serve as inspiration to current PRSSA members. Her PRSSA membership introduced her to the Alzheimer’s Association, which resulted in her obtaining an internship with the organization and ultimately a full-time position.

The same can be said for Emily Kaiser, a senior applied communication studies major and PRSSA member. She got involved in the SIUE Walk, and she is now serving as an intern with the Alzheimer’s Association. Although the Association may not have an opening to hire Kaiser after graduation, she has gained a lot of industry experience, broadened her professional network and definitely secured some strong recommendations as she moves forward in her career.

“My experience working with the Alzheimer’s Association has been amazing,” Kaiser said. “I have learned so much about writing, connecting with an audience and public relations in general. I would encourage everyone to get an internship, even if it’s just over the summer. I also think the nonprofit sector is a good place to start; it has given me a lot of experience and writing opportunities.”

Kaiser wrote two feature stories about upcoming Walks. The first one was published in The Rolla Daily News, and the second one in the Farmington Press. Noel and Kaiser serve as excellent examples of what PRSSA membership can do for you.

So what are you waiting for? The PRSSA fall membership drive ends Oct. 12. If you want to learn more about membership benefits, contact David Gallaher, PRSSA-SIUE Chapter president, at dgallah@siue.edu or Desiree Bainbridge, PRSSA-SIUE Chapter vice president, at dbainbr@siue.edu. Both of these professional leaders can share multiple success stories regarding their own experiences as PRSSA members.

No matter what your professional goals are, find out how PRSSA membership can help enhance your education, broaden your network and launch your career.

You can also join the PRSSA Walk team or make a donation by going to this link.

Pull up a chair and let’s talk.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

