My Causerie

"All great change in America begins at the dinner table." ~ Ronald Reagan

What’s your worth? April 3, 2016

Filed under: ACS 313 — mycauserie @ 7:00 am

I had an interesting discussion with students in my online class this past week. It was probably “sanitized” for my benefit, but even then, I sensed some frustration with the standards I’ve set for them.

I tried to emphasize that the work I put before them is no more, actually quite less, then what I put upon myself. I provide multiple learning opportunities, and doing so adds a lot of work on my part. It also adds absolutely nothing to my paycheck, but if students take advantage of these opportunities, they could definitely add to their own paychecks down the road.

Jace, Josie, Jonah

Easter Sunday: Jace, Josie, Jonah

Photo Credit: ToGa Wanderings via Compfight cc

Photo Credit: ToGa Wanderings via Compfight cc

For a little encouragement, students should read this article about a PR pro’s worth in 2016.

All I can say is, “Wow, I have adorable grandchildren!” Because if it wasn’t for these three, I’d probably be working in public relations rather than teaching it!

 

But for students who want to enter the public relations field and work toward those six-figure salaries, listen up. You are going to have to learn to juggle several projects at a time, meet deadlines and write flawlessly. Successfully managing your college coursework on top of other responsibilities, whether that be an internship, job, family…or all of the aforementioned, is making you a more competitive candidate in an increasingly competitive job market. The reading, quizzes, practice exercises, blogging, writing, writing and more writing…well, consider it on-the-job training! And, you are not paying any extra fees for this training…you’re welcome!

The class is challenging; I do not deny it. College students’ schedules are challenging; I do not deny it. But I hope in the end, students realize it is solely for their benefit. OK…maybe a little for my benefit too. When I am looking for public relations professionals to serve on my class panels or speak at PRSSA meetings, I want them to be SIUE alumni!

So stay strong and finish the race! The semester is almost over. Work hard and you will move toward those six figures some day! In the meantime, know I am working just as hard…while I move toward six grandchildren some day! Smiley-06-junePull up a chair and let’s talk.

 

3 Responses to “What’s your worth?”

  1. Lindy Says:

    For the record, (and you can quote me on this) what you threw at us in school was nowhere near what I face at my job. I juggle multiple PR campaigns, plan future campaigns, manage all of our internal communication, attend work events and meetings after hours and do all the things you mentioned above at the same time. All while maintaining a second job and a social life (and currently the maid of honor in a wedding which is exhausting).

    Keep throwing things at them. When they can catch it all and throw it back, that’s how they know they are ready for the real world.

  2. Frank Strong Says:

    In the “for what it’s worth column” I’d add, that in the business of PR, we are all forever students. The dynamics of PR are so fluid and change so quickly, the learning doesn’t end with a diploma or a even a job title.

    The PR pros on the top of their game continuously strive to learn new skills: What is highly optimized anchor rich text and what does that mean for content? How can you build an audience profile with Google Analytics? What is random sampling, confidence intervals and standard deviation mean to PR?

    Photography. Graphic design. Video editing. HTML coding. Marketing automation. Last touch attribution. The list is endless…but don’t feel overwhelmed, rather resolve to tackle one or two every month, every quarter or ever year and continuously build a personal portfolio of skills.

    The more we learn, the better we are at integrating PR into the broader organization and being able to articulate the value of PR to organizational stakeholders.


Leave a Reply

