My Causerie

"All great change in America begins at the dinner table." ~ Ronald Reagan

March 21, 2016

Filed under: My Causerie — mycauserie @ 7:00 am

I watched “The Passion” hosted and narrated by Tyler Perry last Sunday; I thought it was good.  It was set in New Orleans and had several well-known celebrities playing key roles in the production. As the story of Jesus’ crucifixion played out live in this unique, contemporary re-telling , a crowd of people were also carrying a huge illuminated cross through the streets of New Orleans.

As I said, it was a unique, modern-day version of a story that has been told for more than 2,000 years, and the musical selections that accompanied the storytelling were certainly unique too. I found it captivating though. If I was to look at this storytelling  from a public relations perspective, I would say it’s good PR. Jesus is getting his message out. Isn’t that what he called his disciples to do? It’s good storytelling. Isn’t that what good PR pros do? I’d say Tyler Perry and the others did some good PR work for their “client!”

The show was a good way to end a good Sunday. I enjoyed church with my family…something I treasure, and it was extra special to see my FullSizeRender(2)grandson as he waved his palm branch as part of our Palm Sunday worship service. It’s a blessing to get to see my grandchildren starting their faith walk early in life. Plus, you get to hear so many wonderful young faith stories like the one my grandson recently shared with his mom.

“Mom?”

“Yes, Jonah.”

“I’ve been praying to God that PaPa would finish the train table, but it’s just not working!”

Ahhh, out of the mouths of babes. Now surely this will motivate his PaPa to get that train table finished! Speaking of “out of the mouths of babes,” we also had another young Highland Hoper, Isaac Rieke, share his amazing voice with us during church. We’ve had several young people sharing their gifts the past several weeks, and I have been blessed by each one. I’m not sure, but I am guessing I must have stepped out of line when God was handing out talent! I have no musical talents, but music can really speak to me as a part of my worship experience, so I appreciate those who share their gifts.

If you do not have a place to celebrate the resurrection this Easter Sunday,  I invite you to join us at Highland Hope. Let me know if you need directions or a ride.

Pull up a chair and let’s talk.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

