My Causerie

"All great change in America begins at the dinner table." ~ Ronald Reagan

This is what it means to be held February 1, 2016

Filed under: My Causerie — mycauserie @ 7:00 am
“This is what it is to be loved and to know that the promise was that when everything fell, we’d be held.”
Words from one of my favorite songs by Natalie Grant came to mind this week as we buried my cousin at the young age of 50. To go out on your family farm on a Sunday afternoon with your young daughter by your side and not return is appalling.
Yet the shared tears as loved ones came together told me, “This is what it is to be loved and to know that the promise was that when everything fell, we’d be held.”
From conversations with family and friends to the lesson in Sunday School yesterday, I have had plenty of opportunity to ponder the “whys” of this past week. For the most part, I have held it all in–mainly because to talk about it brings more tears than words right now. Whys are tough for all of us when our hearts are broken.
Yet the prayers of friends near and far told me, “This is what it is to be loved and to know that the promise was that when everything fell, we’d be held.”
I hear of miracles such as someone lifting a car or being brought back to life after a near-drowning, and I want to cry out asking, “Why no miracle that day?” But I know this is an imperfect world we live in, and we are not immune from the hurting. I realize God is much bigger than anything my finite mind could even begin to understand, so I trust in Him with all my heart and lean not on my own understanding (Proverbs 3:5).
I witnessed a church family, immediate and extended families, friends and strangers embrace each other and celebrate the life of a young man who was committed to his God, his family and his community, which told me, “This is what it is to be loved and to know that the promise was that when everything fell, we’d be held.”
This past week, everything fell for our family. I’m not going to lie; it was a hard fall. We are hurting. For my cousin’s wife, daughter and mom, the healing will take time. But I know they felt God’s embrace through the words and actions of so many, and they will continue to show them, “This is what it is to be loved and to know that the promise was that when everything fell, we’d be held.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

