My Causerie

"All great change in America begins at the dinner table." ~ Ronald Reagan

Put Your Hands Up in the Air July 28, 2014

Filed under: My Causerie — mycauserie @ 7:00 am
Photo Credit: hounddiggity via Compfight cc

Photo Credit: hounddiggity via Compfight cc

Alzheimer’s disease. The only cause of death among the top 10 in America that cannot be prevented, cured or even slowed. If you have a loved one living with the disease, you know it takes you on an emotional roller coaster ride. It turns your life up. side. down.

I don’t argue this. How else can you explain how life feels when your dad thinks you are his daughter, wife, girlfriend…all in one day. I’ve been there. I know. I don’t discount the hurt, the sadness or the stress of caring for someone living with this disease. But just like those scary roller coasters that are fun to ride, you can have fun on this ride too.

777

Picture my dad colored. He always loved his horses!

During the last year of my dad’s life, we had so much fun together doing things I hadn’t done with my dad since I was a small child! We played games – not always by the rules – but that was part of the fun! We went for walks; we talked; we sang songs; we colored pictures.

 

594 We shared a lot of hugs and kisses, and even though he may not have known my name, one thing was a constant: whoever I was, he knew he loved me and he knew I loved him!

So as we raise valuable research dollars to discover ways to someday cure and prevent Alzheimer’s disease, it’s important to remember that the 5 million people living with this disease are doing just that…living, and we can still be a part of that life. In fact, we NEED to be an active part of their lives. Don’t let the ride scare you. Just hang on tight, or better yet, put your hands up in the air and have some fun! Trust me, just like the biggest roller coaster you ever dared to ride, you will laugh, smile, and yes, shed a few tears! You don’t want to miss the experience though, so don’t shy away!

And help in the fight by donating or joining The Purple PRoject at this year’s Walk to END Alzheimer’s. Your financial gift not only supports the much-needed research, but it also provides valuable resources to families caring for loved ones living with this disease. I know how important those resources are because I turned to the Alzheimer’s Association often for advice and support as our family cared for my dad.

So please, donate today. You can make your tax-deductible donation online, send it by mail or contact me at showard@siue.edu. I will gladly help you with your donation!

In the meantime, pull up a chair and let’s talk.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

