My Causerie

"All great change in America begins at the dinner table." ~ Ronald Reagan

Do more: Be a Gimper January 26, 2014

Filed under: My Causerie — mycauserie @ 6:41 pm
Photo Credit: sdbrown via Compfight cc

Photo Credit: sdbrown via Compfight cc

I am revisiting a little book I read more than 10 years ago: “The Prayer of Jabez” by Bruce Wilkinson. The first chapter, “Little Prayer, Giant Prize” and Chapter 2, “So Why Not Ask?” – two chapter titles that grabbed my attention back then, and they did again as I plucked this little book from my collection last week.

Parts of this book have remained with me over the years, but amid the recent trials in my life, I felt God was nudging me to re-read this little book about a little prayer with the giant prize. Sometimes our memories and our spirits just need refreshed.

One refresher: learning about being a “gimper” – something shared on page 1 of Chapter 1. According to Wilkinson, he learned about being a gimper from a seminary chaplain named Dr. Richard Seume. Seume had explained that a gimper was “someone who always does a little more than what’s required or expected.” In many aspects of my life, I am certainly a gimper…I think I learned my gimping skills from my dad.  However, I needed reminded of the importance of being a gimper for God, which is where the tiny little prayer of Jabez comes into the story. We need to do more.

Chapter 2: So Why Not Ask? My second refresher came from this chapter as Wilkinson set the scene of overhearing the morning prayers of a spiritual mentor. How does a man of faith begin his prayers? “O Lord, please bless…me!” Sound selfish to you? At first glance, maybe; but God wants nothing more than to bless us and bless us abundantly; but often, we don’t ask. We are missing out on the blessings God has in store for us simply because we are failing to ask. We need to do more.

As the first month of 2014 draws to a close, doing more – enlarging my territory – is something I am working toward. In many ways, the struggles of 2013 brought me back to this book, to this notion of being a gimper…a gimper for God. I believe for a reason, and I am excited…ummmm, maybe a bit nervous if I am to tell the truth, as to how this plan will play out over the next weeks, months and years, but I trust in God’s math. Oh, the math lesson comes in Chapter 3 of the book! There are a lot of lessons in this short, little book.

I’ll keep you posted; in the meantime, pull up a chair and let’s chat.

 

 

 

 

 

 

One Response to “Do more: Be a Gimper”

  1. Nancy Sturm Says:

    Can’t wait to see where your “gimping” takes you. Nice post. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

