My Causerie

"All great change in America begins at the dinner table." ~ Ronald Reagan

Feed your career curiosity January 20, 2014

Filed under: ACS 213,ACS 313 — mycauserie @ 7:00 am
Photo Credit: m-c via Compfight cc

Photo Credit: m-c via Compfight cc

As I come across yet another article that I think could benefit students, I hear this still, small voice, “work-life balance, work-life balance.” I’m not saying I do not intend to do my share of industry reading, but I want to encourage students to develop their own career curiosity.

Since we are beginning a new semester of blogging, my advice is to begin looking for industry-related blogs to help you learn more about the profession you plan to enter. For some that career field is public relations, and for PR professionals, good writing is a must. However, as mentioned on the first day of class, all industries are seeking candidates with good writing skills. So, uncovering tips and tricks to help strengthen writing skills is something all college students should include in their professional development toolkit.

Many people I know live by their calendars. They have to block out time for everything if they want to ensure they get it all done; college students are no different. For college students, I suggest adding in a block of time on a daily basis for professional development reading. Since much, if not all, of this reading will be online reading, I often tell students to develop a “social hour happy hour.” Just spend an hour perusing some of the blogs and other sites that could help you reach your career goals.

How about this article, “Grammar Hammer: Passive Aggressive Voice (Not Behavior).” I came across it on PR Newswire’s blog, Beyond PR. I thought it offered some good tips to help break the passive writing habit – something we were talking about in class last week. Remember those hyperlinks we were also talking about? This post had one; yes, I clicked on it.

Is your writing in need of a “911” call? Well, in reading the above article, I learned about the Paramedic Method. This method helps to ensure your copy is clear and concise. This method might be beneficial to some of you as you begin your writing assignments, so I encourage you to take a look.

This is just one example of the multitude of resources that are available to you. I hope you will make a commitment to nurture your career curiosity. I assure you, it will be a wise investment of your time.

In the meantime, pull up a chair and let’s talk.

 

Leave a Reply

