My Causerie

"All great change in America begins at the dinner table." ~ Ronald Reagan

Common Sense: 10 Interview Fashion Blunders to Avoid January 25, 2012

Filed under: ACS 213 — mycauserie @ 1:17 am

Common Sense by Benjamin Gray

We have our first PR professional panel in both SPC 213 classes tomorrow. The topic of interviewing is always a part of the discussion. Questions can range anywhere from “Should I hide my tattoo when I go for an interview?” to “What should I include in my portfolio?”

Interestingly, I just read “10 Interview Fashion Blunders” by Carole Martin, and students may be surprised at some of the dressing faux pas mentioned in the article. Students might look at the list and think, “Really, this could be a deal breaker for me?” But, I like the advice she leaves the readers with, and in this competitive job market, I think it’s well worth listening to.

In addition to the 10 blunders that she highlights, Martin states that whatever you wear, it should show prospective employers that you are a professional ready to go to work at your new job, and she says, use common sense. Hmmm, I think that could be a tough one. Sometimes I think common sense is generational, so maybe your view of common sense isn’t the same as mine.

I’ve had some students ask if they should dress professionally for class tomorrow. Even though professional attire is not required, it never hurts to make a good impression when given a networking opportunity such as this. I encourage students to take a look at the article, and see what they think. Maybe the panelists will share their own “dress for success” tips.

In the meantime, pull up a chair and let’s talk.

 

2 Responses to “Common Sense: 10 Interview Fashion Blunders to Avoid”

  1. I followed the link and I found this to be interesting. I always dress professionally for an interview, and my opinion of professional has matured since just last year. One thing that made me think was how black is considered too serious. I always wear black pants and a black blazer/suit jacket to my interviews. To me, it really does look professional. However, I do sometimes add a colored shirt underneath or cute flats, but most of the time it’s white and black. Is that really too serious? I thought my personality coming out in the interview was enough.
    I also thought it was funny how they touched out out-of-date suit lapels. That is so true! When I see one of those all I can think of is how out-of-date they look, not focusing on them more.
    This article was interesting, thank you for sharing.

  2. mycauserie Says:

    I don’t know if I agree with the color black being viewed as too serious. I definitely don’t think it would be a detriment to the interview. I think it is more important to ensure whatever you are wearing reflects a business-professional image and that includes making sure your clothes are clean, pressed and in good condition. I cringe when I see individuals wearing pants that are too long and the hem is all frayed because it has been dragging the ground or their clothes are wrinkled – that screams “not serious” to me!


Leave a Reply

