My Causerie

"All great change in America begins at the dinner table." ~ Ronald Reagan

New Year’s Resolution…is there an App for that? January 6, 2012

Filed under: My Causerie — mycauserie @ 2:14 am

Santa brought me a new iPhone for Christmas, and I have had a lot of fun shopping in the App Store! There is an app for just about anything. I’m wondering if there are any apps out there to help people keep their New Year’s resolutions – anybody know of one?

Do you make New Year’s resolutions? I’m a kinda-sorta type of resolution-making person. I’d rather refer to them as personal goals. Maybe it’s just semantics, but the whole “New Year’s resolution” just sends off a bad vibe to me. It’s like I feel defeated before I ever get the last piece of confetti swept up. Words are powerful though. Did your mother ever tell you to “Use your words wisely?” Moms are pretty smart if you ask me! So, I decided to play the word game and go with goals vs. resolutions.

My goals for 2012:  1) get my priorities straight and 2) improve my time management in order to keep those priorities straight.

Life has a way of making you think about these sort of things. It’s been a combination of life events that got me re-thinking about my priorities: turning the big 5-0, experiencing loss and celebrating joy – especially through the love of a grandchild. Let me just say, it has been a rollercoaster ride for me lately. It’s kind of felt like one of those that turns you upside down a few times. Hmmm…now that I think about it, I’ve never really been a fan of rollercoasters. None-the-less, once we are on, we’ve got to ride it out!

What about you? Are you a goal setter or a resolution maker? Either way, I wish you much success in 2012. And, if you have a little free time, stop by for a visit. It will help me to practice my goal because part of that whole “get my priorities straight” is staying mindful of the importance of relationships, and that means more than just adding another Facebook friend! I want to take time for conversations with family and friends. I think face time is important, and I don’t mean using my iPhone even though there is an app for that too.

So pull up a chair and let’s talk!

 

2 Responses to “New Year’s Resolution…is there an App for that?”

  1. driedle Says:

    I never really thought about the differences in the words “goals” and “resolutions” until reading your thoughts on the matter. Every new year around the country people are asking, “What’s your new years resolution?” And everyone responds with either losing weight, working-out (which goes along with the aforementioned one), or quit smoking. Those are what I consider to be resolutions. But how long do people stick with them? I feel like one month in and they are history. In my opinion people strive to make their “goals” come a reality more so than their “resolutions.” Although, these two words can go hand in hand, in order to have a resolution one must set goals. Goals are smaller steps to achieving your resolution.

  2. cantblikemike Says:

    I never really thought about the differences either between goal setting or setting/having a resolution. Now that I think about it I don’t believe in the whole “setting a new year’s resolution” because 9 times out of 10 people never go through with there resolution. I feel like goal setting is a better term. I rather just set goals and start from there & work on them slowly but surely!! Thanks for allowing me to see this better and actually think about it. I wish you the best of luck in 2010 also!

    -Mike


Leave a Reply

