My Causerie

"All great change in America begins at the dinner table." ~ Ronald Reagan

Miles for Memories September 17, 2011

Filed under: My Causerie — mycauserie @ 11:07 pm

Join me this Saturday in Parking Lot A on the SIUE campus for the Walk to End Alzheimer’s. Registration begins at 8 a.m. and the walk begins at 9 a.m. If you can’t join me for the walk, please consider making a donation. More than half of all Americans know someone with Alzheimer’s – I am one of them. I know my dad, and I realize that very soon, my dad won’t know me. So, that is why my family formed a team – Miles for Memories – to honor him and the thousands of others who are fighting this terrible disease.

PRSSA is also looking for volunteers to help staff this event. If you are interested in volunteering, please let me know as soon as possible. Volunteers are needed for set up, water stations and clean up after the event.

 

One Response to “Miles for Memories”

  1. jnberry3 Says:

    This is a great cause! My grandmother has both Alzheimer’s and acute dementia. It’s a terrible affliction to have to endure and I’d give anything to have just one more cognitive day with her where she actually remembers who I am. She was a brilliant woman and I miss learning from her expansive knowledge. God bless you and this organizations’ courageous efforts, Mrs. Howard. From the bottom of my heart, I thank you all for caring.


Leave a Reply

