My Causerie

"All great change in America begins at the dinner table." ~ Ronald Reagan

Getting Organized! January 24, 2010

Filed under: ACS 313 — mycauserie @ 11:24 pm

Being organized…it’s one of my favorite things to do! I always feel more prepared to face the challenges of the day when I’m organized. Sometimes this requires late nights, but I think I function better when I take the time to get organized even if it means less sleep. You can tell me if I am wrong as the semester progresses!

To help you get organized as a writer, the first chapter of your text mentions the importance of having a resource library, and professional publications and blogs should be a part of your library. Your text provides several suggestions, and I encourage you to check these out and subscribe to some of your favorites.

Tomorrow in class, we’ll take a look at PR Tactics and discuss some of the challenges and trends of 2010. Not surprising, social media plays a part in both. In one article, Kristine Welker, vice president, sales and marketing at Hearst Magazine Digital Media, says it’s important for everyone to have what she calls a “social hour–happy hour.” What do you think? Do you think “happy hour” should begin now? What benefits do you see in dedicating an hour of your day to social media?

Pull up a chair and let’s talk.

 

One Response to “Getting Organized!”

  1. Lauren Hayes Says:

    I have come to the conclusion that the only way a person will master the social media arena is to use it themself. Making an account and playing with the different tools in facebook, twitter or regular blogging is the fastest way to become a master at social media. No one can tell others how to use it unless they use it themselves.


Leave a Reply

